06 September 2009

Knights of Columbus Council 5739 holds installation of officers

6 September 2009 – San Fabian. The newly elected officers for the Columbian Year 2009 –2010 of the Knights of Columbus Council 5739 were installed while the service program officers were conducted in a simple but meaningful ceremony held at the Parish Center last 6 September 2009, at 9:30 AM.
The installation of the new council officers was done by SK Crispulo G. Bautista, District Deputry L-35, and assisted by SK Martin V. Estayo, the immediate past Grand Knight and the District Warden.

The following are the newly installed council officers: SK Saturnino J. Perez, Grand Knight; SK Ernesto C. Vigilia, Deputy Grand Knight; SK Guillermo E. Somintoc, Jr., Chancellor; SK Josefino N. Abrigo, Recorder; SK Cornelio Manandeg, Warden; SK Gregorio T. de Guzman, Jr, Treasurer; SK Minandro F. Ocampo, Advocate; SK Diomede C. Romero, Lecturer; SK Marcial S. Dizon, Trustee 3rd Year; SK Bernardo C. Apilado, Trustee 2nd Year; SK Jaime P. Dojillo, Trustee 1st Year; SK Lito I. Narvasa, Inside Guard; SK Jaime A. Gutay, Outside Guard.

The Knights of Columbus of the Parish of St. Fabian Council 5739 was established in 1965 with SK Gregorio T. de Guzman as the first Grand Knight. Since then, there were 22 Grand Knights who served the council faithfully after SK Gregorio T. de Guzman. SK Saturnino J. Perez is the 23rd Grand Knight of the council.

On April 23, 1905, the first council of the Knights of Columbus was established in the Philippines. This was Council No. 1000 located within the Walled City of Intramuros.

The Knights of Columbus is the world's largest Catholic fraternal service organization. Founded in the United States in 1882 by Rev. Fr. Michael J. McGivney, a twenty-nine year old Catholic Priest of St. Mary's Church in New Haven, Connecticut, U.S.A., it is named in honor of Christopher Columbus.

There are more than 1.7 million members in 14,000 councils, with nearly 200 councils on college campuses. Membership is limited to "practical Catholic" men aged 18 or older.